2016 ASIS&T SIG-III International Paper Contest Winners

By Innocent Awasom, International Paper Contest Chair, ASIS&T SIG-III

We had a busy year planning for the 2016 paper contest. Calls for proposals were sent out March 3rd, 2016 with a deadline of May 31st, 2016.  With permission from the Chair, we included the papers received in 2015 for consideration alongside the 2016 papers. We had 5 papers from 2015 from India, Nigeria and Pakistan and 8 papers in 2016 from Algeria, Ethiopia, Iran, Nigeria, Pakistan and Zambia. The great team of jurors worked on a rubric that was used to grade the papers during the month of June and July. The results below were published on August 2nd, 2016.


First Place winners:


2016:  Yared Mammo and Patrick Ngulube (Ethiopia) – Insights into e-information resources (e-journals) Access Models in Higher Learning Institutions in Ethiopia.


2015:  Amjid Khan and Shamshad Ahmed (Pakistan) – Usage of E-Databases and E-journals by Research Community in Pakistani Universities: Issues and Perspectives


Second Place winners:


2016:  Muhammad Arif and Saima Kanwal (Pakistan) – Adoption of Social Media Technologies and their Impact on Students’ Academic Performance: The only Way for Future Survival of Distance Education Students in Pakistan


2015: Hamza Musa and Zakari Muhammad (Nigeria) – Access to online Arabic information resources by the Academics in Ahmadu Bello University Zaria and Bayero University Kano, Nigeria.


Third Place winners:


2016:  Syeda Batool and Sheila Webber (Pakistan) – Mapping information literacy situation in primary schools: A case of Pakistan.


2015:  Deep Jyoti Francis and Vineet Kumar (India) – Cricket and Copyright in Indian Courts: Commercial Interests or National/Public Interests.


The principal authors of each of the winning papers will be awarded a two-year individual membership to ASIS&T. In addition, the first place winner will be awarded a minimum of $1,000 to attend the 2016 ASIS&T annual meeting in Copenhagen, Denmark. The winning papers will be considered for publication by Taylor & Francis’ International Information and Library Review (IILR). We thank Routledge/Taylor & Francis for their support of this program. Special appreciation to the jurors for the 2016 competition:  Innocent Awasom (chair, USA), Maqsood Shaheen (Member, Pakistan) and J.K Vijayakumar (Member, Saudi Arabia).