2016/17 SIG III Election Nomination

On behalf of the Nomination Committee, we are delighted to announce the 2016/17 SIG III nominated officers:

SIG CABINET REPRESENTATIVE – Catherine Dumas (University of South Carolina & SUNY Albany, USA)


CO-CHAIR-ELECT – Hassan Zamir (University of South Carolina, USA)

TREASURER – Naureen Nizam (Dalhousie University, Canada)

INTERNATIONAL PAPER CONTEST CHAIR (1 positions) – Innocent Awasom (Texas Tech University, USA) ; Shimelis Assefa (University of Denver, USA)

INTERNATIONAL PAPER CONTEST JURY MEMBER (2 positions) – Fatih Oguz (UNC Greensboro, USA) ;  Shimelis Assefa (University of Denver, USA) ; Devendra Dilip Potnis (University of Tennessee at Knoxville, USA);  Premila Gamage (Institute of Policy Studies of Sri Lanka, Sri Lanka)

INFOSHARE OFFICER – Selenay Aytac (Long Island University, USA)

COMMUNICATION OFFICER (2 position) – Muhammed Sajid Mirza (International Islamic University, Islamabad, Pakistan)

MENTORSHIP COORDINATOR – Jisue Lee (Florida State University, USA)

ASIS&T SIG-III Nominating Committee
Anatoliy Gruzd, Abebe Rorissa, Catherine Dumas

2016 ASIS&T SIG-III International Paper Contest Winners

By Innocent Awasom, International Paper Contest Chair, ASIS&T SIG-III

We had a busy year planning for the 2016 paper contest. Calls for proposals were sent out March 3rd, 2016 with a deadline of May 31st, 2016.  With permission from the Chair, we included the papers received in 2015 for consideration alongside the 2016 papers. We had 5 papers from 2015 from India, Nigeria and Pakistan and 8 papers in 2016 from Algeria, Ethiopia, Iran, Nigeria, Pakistan and Zambia. The great team of jurors worked on a rubric that was used to grade the papers during the month of June and July. The results below were published on August 2nd, 2016.


First Place winners:


2016:  Yared Mammo and Patrick Ngulube (Ethiopia) – Insights into e-information resources (e-journals) Access Models in Higher Learning Institutions in Ethiopia.


2015:  Amjid Khan and Shamshad Ahmed (Pakistan) – Usage of E-Databases and E-journals by Research Community in Pakistani Universities: Issues and Perspectives


Second Place winners:


2016:  Muhammad Arif and Saima Kanwal (Pakistan) – Adoption of Social Media Technologies and their Impact on Students’ Academic Performance: The only Way for Future Survival of Distance Education Students in Pakistan


2015: Hamza Musa and Zakari Muhammad (Nigeria) – Access to online Arabic information resources by the Academics in Ahmadu Bello University Zaria and Bayero University Kano, Nigeria.


Third Place winners:


2016:  Syeda Batool and Sheila Webber (Pakistan) – Mapping information literacy situation in primary schools: A case of Pakistan.


2015:  Deep Jyoti Francis and Vineet Kumar (India) – Cricket and Copyright in Indian Courts: Commercial Interests or National/Public Interests.


The principal authors of each of the winning papers will be awarded a two-year individual membership to ASIS&T. In addition, the first place winner will be awarded a minimum of $1,000 to attend the 2016 ASIS&T annual meeting in Copenhagen, Denmark. The winning papers will be considered for publication by Taylor & Francis’ International Information and Library Review (IILR). We thank Routledge/Taylor & Francis for their support of this program. Special appreciation to the jurors for the 2016 competition:  Innocent Awasom (chair, USA), Maqsood Shaheen (Member, Pakistan) and J.K Vijayakumar (Member, Saudi Arabia).

InfoShare Awards for 2016

By Anindita Paul, InfoShare Officers, ASIS&T SIG-III

The Infoshare awards were announced in January 2016. The membership award which is for one year, with the possibility of renewal for a second year if the new member proves to be a strong advocate for ASIS&T in their home country during the course of the year, is an opportunity for professionals, researchers and students to strengthen their relationship with ASIS&T. Thirteen nominations were received out of which 8 were professionals, 2 students and the rest 2 were transitional. One nomination was a renewal from last year. The nominees were from Brazil, Egypt, India, Iran, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. We are happy to announce that with the consent of the SIG-III officers and the budget allocation of this year, all of the applicants were awarded the Infoshare award, including the renewal applications from last year. The award winners are as follows:

·         Azadeh Aletaha, Iran,

·         Bashir Ahmed, Pakistan,

·         Behjat Nezhadmohammad Namaghi, Iran,

·         Claudio Gottschalg-Duque, Brazil,

·         Iman Tahamtan, Iran

·         Manjula Wijewickrema, Sri Lanka,

·         Marzieh Siamak, Iran,

·         Pari Hosseinzadeh, Iran,

·         Sanam Ebrahimzadeh, Iran,

·         Shima Moradi, Iran,

·         Zaheer Ahmad, Pakistan,

·         Jiban Pal, India,

·         Girma Debele Dinegde, Ethiopia