I studied at Northumbria University for my PhD by discussing the thesis “Towards the internationalization of LIS higher education”.

I started my teaching career in 2000- in the Bologna Process framework- teaching at the University of Parma (Italy) in two international courses, MAIS and DILL, both courses organized in cooperation by European universities, with teachers and students from different nations and cultures. MAIS (Master International Information Studies) was an international Master with the University of Parma and Northumbria University. DILL (Digital Library Learning) was an international Master with Oslo University College (after HIOA) Tallinn University and University of Parma. I also collaborated with colleagues from Middle East countries such as Uzbekistan, Georgia, Armenia, for projects aiming to reorganize university education for the digital library. This international experience has convinced me that LIS is an international discipline however there are still many obstacles to agreed standards. Furthermore the professionals have problems of recognition and equivalence of the academic titles in a global world.

My European experience has expanded globally in IFLA where I was the Chair of the Education and Training Section and Library Theory and Research Section. I was also Division IV Chair and member of the Governing Board.  I have collaborated in IFLA on preparing a report on Quality Assurance, on preparing the Guidelines on the recognition of qualifications and recently in guiding a Project on defining the role and competencies of the data curator. I currently collaborate with the IFLA BSLISE Group following my research interest of the new competencies and new professional profiles in the digital era.

I am currently Editor of the journal Digital Library Perspectives.

Position Statement