The Nominations Committee shall consist of five members, including the Past President, who shall be Chair. The four other members shall not be members of the Board of Directors. At the meeting of the Chapter Assembly and the SIG Cabinet which take place during the annual conference, each body shall designate one member of ASIS&T to serve as a member of the Nominations Committee for the next election. The remaining two members shall be chosen by the Chair of the Committee. Should the office of Past President become vacant, the President shall appoint as Chair that member who has served the longest as a member of the Board, or if there be two or more Directors of equal length of service, then the President shall designate one of them as Chair. If at the time the committee meets, the designee of the Assembly or Cabinet is not able to serve, a substitute for the vacancy shall be made by the presiding officer of the Assembly or Cabinet whose designee is unable to serve.

Chair:  Lynn Silipigni Connaway, PhD, OCLC & ASIS&T Past President


Proposed Charge:

  • Submit slate of officers for election as follows: at least two candidates for President-Elect, at least two candidates for Directors-at-Large, and at least two candidates for Treasurer if that position in coming open in any year.
  • Ensure that all candidates for nominated offices meet the qualifications of those offices, fully understand the responsibilities and level of commitment required of those offices, and represent the diversity of the information professions.

The ASIS&T community is committed to the values of diversity and inclusion, which we believe support our efforts to achieve and sustain excellence in the information science and technology field. We believe that we can best promote excellence by engaging diverse group members and other stakeholders, and providing opportunities at all levels of engagement for any individual or group that shares these values. ASIS&T leaders, volunteers, and staff will strive to keep diversity and inclusion at the forefront of all program planning and development efforts in order to ensure the most welcoming and engaging environment possible for our stakeholders.