Skip to content

84th Annual Meeting of the 
Association for Information Science and Technology

Information: Equity, Diversity, Inclusion, Justice, and Relevance

For 84 years, ASIS&T researchers and practitioners, along with those from related fields, have been pushing advancements in information understanding, technology, and use, making substantial progress and contributions. However, the nirvana hinted at by Vannevar Bush with the sum total of human knowledge at our fingertips is not so blissful. With the advantages, we also see hate speech, rumors, conspiracy theories, cyberbullying, AI systems turned racist, fake news, click fraud, adversarial IR, privacy concerns -- the list goes on. What happened? As the premier international conference dedicated to the study of information, people, and technology in contemporary society, the ASIS&T Annual Meeting is a forum to assist in addressing these issues as we continue to push forward the positive contributions of information and technology.


Conference Chair
Jim Jansen, QCRI, Quatar

Paper Co-Chairs
Annie Chen, University of Washington, USA
Lu Xiao, Syracuse University, USA

Panel & Alternative Events Co-Chairs
Jiangen He, University of Tennessee, USA
Wen Lou, East China Normal University, China

Poster Co-Chairs
Md. Anwarul Islam, University of Dhaka, Bangladesh
Tingting Jiang, Wuhan University, China

Doctoral Colloquium Co-Chairs
Pnina Fichman, Indiana University, USA
Howard Rosenbaum, Indiana University, USA

Industry Series Co-Chairs
Sandra Hirsh, San José State University, USA
Don Turnbull, Aqua M&A, USA

Conference Chair Assistants
Aaron Bowen-Ziecheck, McGill University, Canada
Han Zheng, Nanyang Technology University, Singapore

Communications Co-Chairs
Lisa Hussey, Simmons University, USA
Brenton Stewart, Louisiana State University, USA


Workshops &Tutorials

  • Submission of workshop and tutorial proposals due: 19 April 2021
  • Notification regarding submitted workshops and tutorials: 30 April 2021


  • Submission of paper proposals due: 19 April 2021
  • Notification regarding submitted papers: 24 May 2021
  • Camera-ready accepted paper abstracts due: 7 June 2021

Panels and Alternative Events

  • Submission of panel and alternative event proposals due: 19 April 2021
  • Notifications regarding submitted panels and alternative events: 24 May 2021
  • Camera-ready accepted panel and alternative event abstracts due: 7 June 2021


  • Submission of poster proposals due: 9 June 2021
  • Notifications regarding submitted posters: 7 July 2021
  • Camera-ready accepted poster abstracts due: 28 July 2021

Doctoral Colloquium

  • Proposal submissions due: 16 June 2021
  • Notifications regarding submitted proposals: 30 July 2021

Watch the Conference Website for updates:

Submission site:

Site will open for submissions 1 February 2021

Questions? Email us!