Skip to content

New Leader Awards

Please join us in congratulating the ASIS&T 2016 New Leader awardees!

Rebekah Willson, PhD.  Rebekah recently graduated from Charles Sturt University, Australia and will be taking a faculty position at University of Strathclyde in the United Kingdom. Rebekah will be working with President-elect, Lynn Silipigni Connaway. Lynn will be Rebekah’s mentor.

Alyson Gamble, MLA, MLIS.  Alyson is Assistant Librarian of Sciences at Jane Bancroft Cook Library, New College of Florida and USF Sarasota-Manatee and Chair-elect and Secretary/Treasurer, SIG DL. Alyson’s mentor is Rong Tang, Co-chair Publications Committee. Alyson will be working with Rong on the Publications Committee.

Hillary Stark is a PhD student at the University of North Texas, Denton and Chair, University of North Texas Student Chapter. Hillary will be working with Howard Rosenbaum and Pnina Fichman Co-chairs, SIG SI. They also will be her mentors.

Kayla Hammond Larkin is a master’s student at Simmons College and Co-chair Simmons College Student Chapter. Heather O’Brien, Chair-elect SIG USE, will be Kayla’s mentor. Kayla will be working with Heather on SIG USE projects.

Banafsheh Asadi is a PhD student at McGill University and Chair, McGill University Student Chapter. Banafsheh will be working on SIG VIS projects and Jeremy McLaughlin, Chair-elect SIG VIS, will be Banafsheh’s mentor.

Ekatarina (Eka) Grguric, MLIS. Ekatarina is a North Carolina State University Libraries Fellow and Chair, SIG DL. Ekatarina will be working with Yao Zhang, Chair-elect SIG III.  Yao will be Ekatarina’s mentor.

Christine Meschede is a master’s student at Heinrich-Heine-University Düsseldorf and Secretary/Treasurer, European Student Chapter. Christine will be working with Virginia Ortiz-Repiso Jimenez on projects for the European Chapter. Virginia, Chair-elect European Chapter, will be Christine’s mentor.

Laura Ridenour is a PhD student at the School of Information Studies at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee and Communications Officer, SIG CR. Laura will be working with Barbara Kwasnik, Chair-elect SIG CR. Barbara will also be Laura’s mentor.


Selection committee: Daniel Alemneh, Head, Digital Curation Unit, University of North Texas, Catherine Dumas, Ph.D. Candidate, University at Albany, Lynn Westbrook, Associate Professor, University of Texas, Austin, and Katherine La Barre, Associate Professor, University of Illinois, Urbana Champaign.  Together the selection committee represents the ASIS&T Board, Chapters, SIGs, and former New Leaders.