Skip to content

European Community of Information Fellows

Europe is a region of diverse professional, academic, and research contributions spanning areas within Information Science across countries.   ASIS&T’s European Chapter recognises the unique and influential contributions of individuals to the area of Information Science, through its Community of Information Science Fellows, including professionals, academics, and researchers in Europe. They are our champions of Information Science in the European Chapter, sharing their expertise and leadership with our community.

Tatjana Aparac-Jelusic

Tatjana Aparac-Jelusic is professor emerita, former Head of the Department of Information Sciences and Dean of the PhD program Knowledge Society and Information Transfer at the University of Zadar, and former Head of the Department of Information Sciences at the University of Osijek. She has authored 3 books, 11 chapters in books, over 150 research and professional papers, over 50 reviews and opinion papers, and has edited 25 books. In 2006 she received the Thompson/ISI Outstanding Teacher of Information Science award, given by ASIS&T, and in 2019 received the Bobcats of 2018 Award for her efforts in fostering cooperation and internationalization of European (L)IS education. She is currently (2021-22) the Chair of ASIS&T’s History Committee.
Louise Limberg

Louise Limberg is professor emerita at the University of Borås, Swedish School of Library and Information Science. Her research interests concern the interaction between information seeking and use, and learning, linked to issues of information literacy. In 2000-2020 Dr. Limberg was a member of the steering committee of ISIC (the Information Seeking in Context Conference) and in 2006-2010 was a member of the board of LinCS, an interdisciplinary centre of excellence at the University of Gothenburg and the University of Borås. She was among a group of pioneering researchers to establish the discipline of library and information science in Sweden.
Michel Menou
Ian Ruthven

Ian Ruthven is Professor of Information Seeking and Retrieval in the Department of Computer and Information Sciences, University of Strathclyde where he leads the Strathclyde ISchool Research Group. He works across the areas of information seeking and retrieval: understanding how and why people search for information and what might help them search more successfully.
Reijo Savolainen

Reijo Savolainen is professor emeritus at the Tampere University, Faculty of Information Technology and Communication Sciences. He is most well-known for his conceptual and empirical studies on everyday information practices. The main contributions include the model for everyday life information seeking (ELIS) proposed in 1995. In his book Everyday Information Practices (The Scarecrow Press, 2008) Savolainen developed further the above model, based on empirical findings about the ways in which environmental activists and unemployed people seek, use and share information. More recently, his investigations have focused on everyday information seeking and sharing occurring in online environments. In 2016, he received the ASIS&T Research in Information Science Award for his contribution to information behavior research.
Diane H. Sonnenwald

Diane H. Sonnenwald is Emerita Professor, UCD, Ireland. She has also been a Distinguished Visiting Professor at National Taiwan Normal University, and has worked at Bell Communications Research and Bell Laboratories. She has a PhD from Rutgers University. Sonnenwald is currently a consultant to the European Commission, CILIP, and other organisations. Sonnenwald’s research focuses on multi-disciplinary collaboration, socio-technical design and evaluation, and information behaviour. She has authored over 100 publications, and received over 20 research and education grants, all of which involved collaborations with other disciplines. Sonnenwald served as president of ASIS&T in 2012, and is currently an advisor to the Africa Chapter. Recognition for her research and leadership include the ASIS&T Award of Merit, ASIS&T Watson Davis Award, Elfreda A. Chatman Research Award, Muhlenberg College Alumni Achievement Award, U.S. Army Research Laboratory Scientific Contribution Award, UNC Junior Faculty Research Award, ALISE Research Methodology Best Paper Award, and the Bell Communications Research Award of Excellence.
Anna Maria Tammaro

Anna Maria Tammaro has centered her research and teaching on digital libraries. She has obtained her PhD from the University of Northumbria with a thesis on the internationalization of LIS education. In the University of Parma she has taught in the international Master Information Studies (MAIS) with Northumbria University and the Master Digital Library Learning (DILL) with the University of Oslo, Tallinn and Parma. Since 2018 she has been the Editor in Chief of the international journal Digital library perspectives (Emerald). Within ASIS&T, she is an active member of the board of directors, and was previously the secretary of the European Chapter and a member of SIG Digital Library and SIG Education. She was also a member of the IFLA Governing Board.
Christine Urquhart

Christine Urquhart's research interests cover three main themes: information behaviour and information systems; the value and impact of information services; and health information management. Her contributions often happened working at the intersection of these themes. She has worked with Professor Brenda Dervin on sense-making methodology (information behaviour, and different disciplinary approaches to sense-making/sensemaking in information systems). With value and impact studies she is interested in using the evidence to help design better information systems and services, and health information management led her from health services systematic reviews to exploring how meta-synthesis could advance information science research in information behaviour.
Pertti Vakkari
Tom Wilson

Professor Tom Wilson has made significant contributions to information research, particularly in the areas of information management and information behaviour. In 2000 he was the recipient of the ASIS&T SIG USE Award for "outstanding contributions to information behavior", and he has received ASIS&T’s Award of Merit (2017), recognising sustained contributions to the field of information science, and the Jason Farradane Award (2020). Professor Wilson is also the recipient of honorary doctorates from the Universities of Gothenburg and Murcia. He is Professor Emeritus in the University of Sheffield Information School (where he was Head of Department from 1982 to 1997). Since retiring, Professor Wilson has been Visiting Professor at Leeds University Business School, Professor Catedratico Convidado at the University of Porto, and Senior Professor at the University of Borås, Sweden.