About

The American Society for Information Science and Technology’s (ASIS&T) Special Interest Group for Education (SIG ED) focuses on the education – at all levels – of those concerned with the handling of information.

SIG ED’s programs center on such topics as curriculum design, research, instructional resources and methods, manpower needs, placement, recruitment to the profession, continuing education and educational program planning. It is a forum for coordinating efforts of educators in a wide variety of information-oriented fields, including computer and communications science, librarianship, and management. Levels encompass basic education for the profession, advanced education and research, and continuing professional education.

In addition to offering webinars and events, SIG ED administers the Doctoral Forum at each ASIS&T Annual Meeting, the annual Student Paper Contest, and the annual SIG ED Student Travel Award.

SIG ED Board of Directors, 2015 – 2016

Co Chairs:  Liya Deng, dengl@email.sc.edu & Stan Trembach, trembach@email.sc.edu

Co Chairs-Elect: Hassan Zamir, zamir@email.sc.edu, & Rajesh Singh,  rsingh1@emporia.edu

Secretary: Anna Ferri, ferri.annam@gmail.com

Treasurer: Hans-Christoph Hobohm, hobohm@FH-Potsdam.de

Program Coordinator: Liz Hartnett, ejhart@email.sc.edu

Communication Officer: Suzanne (Suzi) Rogers Gruber, srgruber@gmail.com

Past Chairs: Karen Miller, millerk8@email.sc.edu & Paul Solomon, paulsolomon@sc.edu

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *