Skip to content


Conference Support Award (formerly called Travel Award)

Every year, NEASIS&T provides conference support awards to support participation in the ASIS&T Annual Meeting.  Our goals are to support scholarship and connect research and practice, bringing new voices to the chapter. Each award will support each recipient's year-long membership in ASIS&T as well as their conference registration for the ASIS&T Annual Meeting; enrollment fees for pre/post-meeting workshops and tutorials may also be covered in whole, or in part, up to the award limit. The award will come in the form of a reimbursement with submission of receipts after the conclusion of the ASIS&T Annual Meeting. 

To be eligible to win an award, applicants must be a current graduate student or practitioner in the field of information science. Further instructions and requirements are described in the calls for submissions, which are distributed through ASIS&T discussion lists, the news section of the NEASIS&T website, twitter, and through information-science-related listservs, generally in April or May.  Questions? Feel free to reach out to

2022 Conference Support Award Recipients

Heather F. Ball, St. John's University and the University at Buffalo, SUNY

Heather F. Ball is currently an Information Science doctoral student at the University at Buffalo, SUNY, and the Critical Pedagogy Librarian for Student Success at St. John’s University, as well as an Assistant Professor. She holds an MLS/dual certificate in Preservation and Archives from Queens College and an MLitt (University of Glasgow) and Bachelor’s (NYU) in Medieval Studies. Her dissertation focuses on equitable information literacy instruction for first-year students of color, and her other research interests and publications span inclusive pedagogical practices, critical theories, qualitative and quantitative data analysis, assessment measures, information literacy instruction, digitization and encoding of historical manuscripts, Geoffrey of Monmouth, and twelfth-century Britain.

Lubov McKone, Pratt Institute

Lubov is an aspiring data librarian currently pursuing her MLIS at Pratt Institute. Her prior career as a data analyst in local government grounds her critical approach to data management and use, which challenges the power dynamic between the researcher and the researched in processes of data curation, transformation, and preservation. Currently, she is completing a summer fellowship at the UCSF Industry Documents Library aimed at evaluating the possibilities and limitations of textual data generated by computer transcription software. In her future career, she aims to support a public of empowered data explorers, creators, and destroyers, and bust the myth that data is an objective source of truth.

Sara Rottger, Wilmington Memorial Library

Sara Rottger is the Assistant Librarian for Teen Services at the Wilmington Memorial Library, MA, and a graduate of Mount Holyoke College.  As a member of NEASIS&T, she hopes to connect with professionals in the field beyond the realm of public libraries, and attend panels focusing on the intersections of youth studies and information science. In her current role, she has realized that teen students often lack the confidence or understanding to problem solve online, even as teachers see them as digital natives. The Annual Meeting will inform her future work in offering teens safe, collaborative spaces to explore the messiness of information. Through these spaces, she plans to not only promote necessary information analysis skills that teens should develop, but also the casual and enjoyable aspects of aggregating information.

Chapter Member Awards (no longer awarded)

NEASIST also honors members who have made especially significant contributions to the chapter each year at the annual chapter awards dinner in May.

See all travel and chapter award winners.