Skip to content

Call for nominations for the 2015 ASIS&T Pratt Severn Best Student Research Paper Award

This award recognizes substantive work performed by students in the field of information science and encourages research and writing. Since 1996, it has been sponsored by the Pratt Institute, School of Information and Library Science, on behalf of the late David Severn, a 1968 Pratt Alumnus.

Evaluated by the same rigorous standards as papers submitted for the Journal of the Association for Information Science and Technology (JASIST), the best student research paper is judged on technical competence, significance of findings, originality, and clarity of expression. The award shall consist of round-trip travel expenses and full registration for the ASIS&T annual meeting, not to exceed $500; a certificate; and possible submission of the paper for publication in JASIST.

The nomination deadline is June 15, 2015. For more information on eligibility and nomination requirements, visit

The jurors for the 2015 ASIS&T Pratt Severn Best Student Research Paper Award are:

  • John Budd, University of Missouri
  • Lynne McKechnie, University of Western Ontario
  • Leanne Bowler, University of Pittsburgh
  • Hsin-Liang Chen, Long Island University
  • Jeonghyun (Annie) Kim, University of North Texas (Chair)​