The ASIS&T Award of Merit, established in 1964 by the Delaware Valley Chapter, is now the Association’s highest honor, bestowed annually to an individual who has made a noteworthy contribution to the field of information science, including the expression of new ideas, the creation of new devices, the development of better techniques and outstanding service to the profession of information science. The Award of Merit is sponsored by the Association.

Past recipients of the Award of Merit:

2016    Peter Ingwersen
2015    Michael E.D. Koenig
2014    Marjorie M.K. Hlava
2013    Carol C. Kuhlthau
2012    Michael Buckland
2011    Gary Marchionini
2010    Linda C. Smith
2009    Carol Tenopir
2008    Clifford Lynch
2007    Donald H. Kraft
2006    Blaise Cronin
2005    Marcia Bates
2004    Howard D. White
2003    Nicholas J. Belkin
2002    Karen Sparck Jones
2001    Patrick G. Wilson
2000    Donald R. Swanson
1999    Jose Marie Griffiths
1998    Henry Small
1997    Dagobert Soergel
1996    Jean Tague-Sutcliffe
1995    Tefko Saracevic
1994    Harold Borko
1993    Robert M. Hayes
1992    Robert S. Taylor
1991    Roger K. Summit
1990    P. Atherton Cochrane
1989    Gerard Salton
1988    F. Wilfrid Lancaster
1987    Donald W. King
1986    Bernard M. Fry
1985    Robert L. Chartrand
1984    Joseph Becker and Martha Williams
1983    Dale B. Baker
1982    Andrew A. Aines
1981    Herbert S. White
1980    Claire K. Schultz
1979    Frederick Kilgour
1978    Calvin N. Mooers
1977    Allen Kent
1976    Laurence Heilprin
1975    Eugene Garfield
1974    Manfred Kochen
1973    Jesse H. Shera
1972    Phyllis Richmond
1971    Jerold Orne
1970    Cyril W. Cleverdon
1968    Carlos A. Cuadra
1967    Robert Fairthorne
1966    Mortimer Taube
1965    Charles P. Bourne
1964    Hans Peter Luhn