Skip to content

SIG-USE members are concerned with the activities, both behavioral and cognitive, of people who are interacting with information. These activities include: recognizing information needs, seeking information that will address those needs, exploring information sources present in one’s context/situation, retrieving information from available information sources, communicating and collaborating with others concerning an information need or information resources, using information, and other interactions between people and information. The SIG wishes to promote studies of human information-related behavior and provision of information services, and to encourage the application of the study results to information systems design.

2021-2022 ASIS&T SIG-USE Officers and Chairs:

●  Melissa Ocepek, Chair.  mgocepek@illinois.edu 

●  Annie Chen, Chair Elect, atchen@uw.edu 

●  Yan Zhang, Immediate Past Chair, yanz@utexas.edu 

●  Chiyoung Oh, Treasurer, coh@csu.edu

 ●  Yuan Li, Secretary, yuanli@live.unc.edu 

●  Subaveerapandiyan, A., Communications Officer, subaveerapandiyan@gmail.com 

●  Tathagata Dhar, Webmaster, tdtathagata@gmail.com 

●  Nathan Davis, Recruitment/Membership Officer, nathandavis@utexas.edu

2021-2022 SIG-USE Awards Committee:

●  Xiaojun (Jenny) Yuan, Co-Chair, xyuan@albany.edu 

●  Xiaofeng Li, Co-Chair, Co-Chair, xli@clarion.edu 

●  Saira Hanif Soroya, Co-chair, saira.im@pu.edu.pk 

●  Wonchan Choi, member, wchoi@uwm.edu

2021-2022 SIG-USE Symposium Committee:

●  Nathan Davis, Co-Chair, nathandavis@utexas.edu  

●  S.A.D.H. Namali Suraweera, Co-chair, namali@kln.ac.lk


Past Chairs:

Yan Zhang (2020-2021)

Rebekah Willson (2019-2020)
Sue Yeon Syn (2018-2019)
Beth St. Jean (2017-2018)
Heather O’Brien (2016-2017)
Gary Burnett (2015-2016)
Lisa M. Given (2014-2015)
Rong Tang (2013-2014)
Denise Agosto (2012-2013)
Lorri Mon (2011-2012)