Skip to content


Bob Williams Awards

Every year SIG-HFIS seeks submissions and nominations for the Bob Williams History Awards. There are two awards: the Bob Williams Research Grant and the Bob Williams Research Paper Award. Please find more information about eligibility, submission, and selection criteria below. Note that one need not be an ASIS&T member to submit to one of these awards!

Student Travel Award

SIG HFIS seeks submissions and nominations for the 2020 Student Travel Award. The purpose of the annual award is to assist a student in a Master’s or doctoral program in attending the ASIS&T Annual Meeting by defraying travel expenses. The award shall consist of a check for 500 USD given to a single applicant. The SIG HFIS Student Travel Award is sponsored by the SIG and is administered by a jury comprised of the SIG officers.


To be eligible to apply, applicants must:

  • be an ASIS&T member at the time of application, with preference given to those who are SIG-HFIS members (note: if you are not a member, you can join now).
  • be currently enrolled in a graduate (doctoral or Master’s) program as of the time of the Annual Meeting,
  • have a contribution of any kind accepted for the conference, with relevance to the activities of HFIS (broadly construed), and
  • have not previously won the SIG HFIS Student Travel Award.

Submission procedures and deadline

Applicants for the 2020 Travel Award should submit the following items, by email, to the SIG HFIS Award Jury at The deadline for the 2020 award is July 31, 2020. The winner will be announced by August 14, and will receive the award at the Annual Meeting.

Applications should include:

  • a cover letter including name, address, phone number, email address, academic affiliation. The cover letter should identify the attached statements as being submitted specifically for this award,
  • a curriculum vitae, and
  • a 300-word statement on why Annual Meeting attendance will benefit the student in their pursuit of a future career, including the role of their conference submission in that regard, and its relation to the history and/or foundations of information science. Statements may also discuss financial need.

Past winners

2019  (inaugural)

  • Aaron Bowen-Ziecheck, McGill University
  • Elliot Hauser, UNC Chapel Hill